Aïcha Nour, Djibouti

I grew up cutting girls. I could earn up to 5,000 Djibouti francs (22 Euros) for each girl I cut. We cut the labia, then glued everything back together with traditional products, leaving a smaller or bigger hole according to the mother.” Aïcha realized what she was doing thanks to a course given by the NGO Tostan. “We heard on the radio about some after-effects, but no-one came to us to explain it all. I thought it was just nonsense…” Aicha then became a member of her neighbourhood management committee and voted in favour of “a public declaration of abandonment of female genital mutilation”. She threw her knife away in front of her community.

Aïssatou Diallo, Guinea/Belgium

Four years ago, Aïssatou left her country to save her daughters from FGM: “Because I still remember the pain of my own cutting like it happened yesterday, because I saw a young girl die in front of me, and others whose lives have been cut short because of this…. I couldn’t let this happen to my daughters. But over there, my sisters-in-law had the same rights as I do to my daughters. And they were determined to preserve the family’s honour. My daughters were constantly threatened, I was beaten. After years of fear and rejection, when all hope and strength had almost left me, I left. Today, my daughters are safe, I feel alive again… But I want to fight for the 3 million little girls that are threatened each year. My dream? To be able to say, ten years from now: ‘I am one of the last women to be cut.’

Céline Verbrouck, Belgium

Céline is known throughout Europe for her court pleading to denounce female genital mutilation. This Belgian lawyer uses the law to eradicate excision. She founded INTACT, a non-profit organization with the aim of protecting young girls and ensuring international agreements are respected: “FGM flouts fundamental human rights. Nothing can justify that. Law, be it civil, criminal or the right of asylum, offers us essential solidarity tools to try and save children, our children… whether they were born here or abroad, whether they live here or abroad. In this fight, it is necessary to offer these women and their family protection. We are all concerned by this issue and have to address these responsibilities.

Comfort Momoh, MBE, Nigeria/Ghana/United Kingdom

Even men call me, before their wedding: ‘Comfort, you have to help us. You know the problem of African women….’ Yes, I know.” For 25 years, Comfort, a midwife and public health specialist, has been performing disinfibulation (vaginal reopening) to allow women to have sexual intercourse or give birth. She founded the second specialized clinic in England in 1997. “When we first started campaigning against FGM in the 80’s and early 90’s, communities were angry. They threw eggs and stones at us. They told me: ‘You come from Africa. Why do you talk about these things?’ But, now, we will succeed in eradicating this practice, just like foot binding in China.

Coumba Toure, Mali, France

Toure was cut when she was 12 and grew up to become co-founder of GAMS France in 1982. She promised to herself she would never let her daughters endure this. “When I started to fight against this tradition, it was inconceivable that an African woman would reject traditions. I was insulted, attacked. Since then, important steps have been taken but people’s mentality changes slowly. Mothers were told that the cut was the/a source of femininity and of fertility, that it boosted sexuality; that girls who weren’t cut were of easy virtue. So they do it for their daughters’ sake, believing it is God’s will. They don’t know they are mistaken. They are not savages or barbarians. They just don’t know that the fundamental difference between women who have been cut and others, is pain. An entire life of pain.

Dr Ababacar Mbaye Diaw, Senegal

I was confronted with excision in my wife’s family.” After he graduated in medicine in Moscow, Ababacar flew to Belgium in 1992. He dreamed of specializing in gynecology, but ended up in radiology. Still, it’s him, the African guy, who’s called on to take care of infibulated women. “I told myself: people from the African diaspora are messengers; they are the ones we have to work with.” Ababacar founded GAMS Belgium (Groupe pour l’Abolition des Mutilations Sexuelles féminines: Group for the Abolition of Female Genital Mutilation) with his compatriot Khadidiatou Diallo, and another branch in Senegal. “Such butchery has no use, unlike male circumcision, which can have a medical necessity.

Hélène Diallo, Guinea

Hélène is a nurse. For a long time, she cut young girls, like she was taught by her grandmothers. Parents would pay her with pagnes, money, oil, or large chickens. In the hospital, she saw the damage caused by genital mutilation. “When women had to give birth, there was not enough space for the baby to come out. We had to cut, above and under the vagina. The skin tore. I decided to bury the knife and quit this practice.” Hélène and her husband opened a small hospital in Conakry and they take in orphans. “I regret perpetuating this custom. Now I pamper the children.

Kandas Condé, Guinea

Kandas is 25 years old. He works as a coordinator in a youth centre 50 kms away from Conakry. Since he was a kid he has been called ‘happy youth’ because he loves helping his community. The centre in Coya informs youth aged 15 to 25 years about responsible sex, unwanted pregnancies, and female genital mutilation. “Almost all girls at this age have been cut. In my opinion, it is a crime, but I can’t tell them that. I have to be open to discussion.” In this region, many think that uncut girls are easy. “Awareness can be like a flash in the pan. We have to start over all the time.

Kourecha Ahmed, Djibouti

She poses for the photograph with her four days old daughter, who is yet to be named. Kourecha works as a midwife in Ali-Sabieh (Djibouti). Friends of hers sometimes ask her to cut their daughters. “I always say no. I try to explain why. I can still feel the anxiety of the time I was cut. It still haunts me in my sleep. I was seven years old. All my friends had already gone through it and I couldn’t wait to experience it. Nobody told me: ‘from the first day until when you will give birth, you will feel pain, you will suffer from burning sensation, tears, you will never experience pleasure with your husband and you will have to be cut for the delivery of your first child.’ Nobody…

Mama Sayon Bangoura, Guinea

Mama Sayon is very influential in her neighbourhood. Until recently, she helped poor parents get their daughters cut. “I picked kids up in the streets. I brought them to the hospital or to the old women in the forest. I was wasting all my money to dress and feed them.” Mama Sayon was convinced she was helping her community. “My niece told me I shouldn’t do it anymore. Many people suffered because of this practice. If it was a good thing, how come so many women died because of it?” Today, Mama Sayon uses her influence to banish this practice. “No girl has been cut in our neighbourhood this year because I said it was no good.

Omar Ciss, Senegal

Omar is an actor, member of the Kocc Barma theater company in Rufisque (North part of Senegal). He discovered the theater-forum in Burkina Faso. “This is the most efficient way to make people aware.” One of his plays broaches the subject of female genital mutilation. “We all have people around us who practice this custom. In some villages, it is forbidden to use the word ‘excision’. During the show one of the actors says it anyways and the other answers: ‘Be careful, you can’t say this here’. People in the audience laugh. We provoke them without hurting them, as a way of engaging them in the debate. If we don’t talk about it, we can never solve this problem.

Roukia Youssouf, Djibouti

She is 37, has 6 children and a voice that can shake walls. Roukia works as a midwife and holds training sessions for teenagers. “Who can tell me why girls are being tortured in this country?” “For men’s sexual pleasure”, “for aesthetic reasons”, “so that the girls don’t sleep around”, are the answers she gets. “What else?” Roukia had her eldest daughter cut in the maternity hospital “because it was the done thing”. Today she is involved in the fight against female genital mutilation, together with a religious leader. “When you meet an illiterate Bedouin woman, you can talk as much as you want, she will only listen to the religious man.

Aïcha Nour, Djibouti

« J’ai grandi en pratiquant l’infibulation. Je pouvais gagner jusqu’à 5.000 francs djiboutiens (22 euros) pour une fille. On coupait les lèvres, puis on recollait avec des produits traditionnels, en laissant un grand ou un petit trou, selon ce que demandait la maman. » Aïcha s’est rendu compte de ce qu’elle faisait grâce à une formation de l’ONG Tostan. « On entendait parler des effets secondaires à la radio mais personne n’était venu jusqu’ici pour nous expliquer. Je pensais que c’étaient des histoires… » Aïcha entre alors au comité de gestion de son quartier et vote en faveur d’une ‘déclaration publique d’abandon de l’excision’. Elle a jeté son couteau, sous le regard de sa communauté.

Aïssatou Diallo, Guinea/Belgium

Il y a quatre ans, Aïssatou fuit son pays pour sauver ses filles de l’excision : « Parce que je me souviens comme si c’était hier de la douleur de ma propre excision, parce que j’ai vu une petite fille en mourir sous mes yeux, et tant d’autres voir leur vie amputée… Jamais je n’aurais supporté que l’on touche à mes filles. Mais là-bas, mes belles-sœurs ont les mêmes droits que moi sur elles. Et elles étaient déterminées à sauvegarder l’honneur de la famille. Mes filles étaient constamment menacées, j’ai même été tabassée. Après des années de peur et de rejet, à bout de force et d’espoir, j’ai tout quitté. Aujourd’hui, mes filles sont en sécurité, je revis… Mais je veux me battre pour les 3 millions de fillettes menacées chaque année. Mon rêve ? Pouvoir dire, dans 10 ans, ‘je fais partie des dernières femmes excisées’. »

Céline Verbrouck, Belgium

Connue à travers l’Europe pour ses plaidoiries dénonçant les mutilations génitales féminines, l’avocate belge se sert du droit pour les éradiquer. Son asbl, INTACT, vise surtout à agir préventivement pour protéger les petites filles. Elle veille aussi au respect des Conventions internationales : « L’excision bafoue les droits humains fondamentaux. Rien ne peut la justifier. Avec le droit (pénal, civil ou le droit à l’asile), nous possédons des outils de solidarité indispensables pour tenter d’épargner des enfants, nos enfants… qu’ils soient nés ici ou ailleurs, qu’ils vivent ici ou ailleurs. Dans ce combat, il est indispensable d’offrir à ces femmes et à leurs familles une protection chez nous. Nous sommes tous concernés et responsables face à cette problématique. »

Comfort Momoh, MBE, Nigeria/Ghana/United Kingdom

« Même les hommes m’appellent, avant leur mariage : ‘Comfort, il faut nous aider. Vous savez le problème des femmes africaines…’ Oui, je sais. » Depuis 25 ans, Comfort, sage-femme et spécialiste de santé publique, pratique la désinfibulation (réouverture de la vulve) pour permettre aux femmes d’avoir des relations sexuelles ou d’accoucher par voie basse. Elle a créé la deuxième clinique spécialisée d’Angleterre en 1997. « Quand on a commencé les campagnes contre l’excision dans les années 80 et début des années 90, les communautés étaient très fâchées. On nous jetait des pierres, des œufs. On me disait : ‘tu viens d’Afrique, pourquoi parles-tu de ces choses ?’ Mais, aujourd’hui, on va arriver à mettre fin à cette pratique, comme on a mis fin à celle des pieds bandés en Chine. »

Coumba Toure, Mali, France

Excisée à 12 ans, celle qui deviendra co-fondatrice du GAMS France en 1982 se promet de ne jamais faire subir cette pratique à ses filles : « Quand j’ai commencé le combat, il était impensable qu’une Africaine rejette les traditions. J’ai été insultée, agressée. Depuis, de grands pas ont été faits mais les mentalités changent lentement. On a dit aux mères que l'excision était source de féminité, de fertilité, qu’elle améliorait la sexualité, que les filles non-excisées étaient faciles… Alors, elles le font pour leurs filles, en pensant que c’est la volonté de Dieu. Elles ne savent pas qu’elles se trompent. Ce ne sont ni des sauvages, ni des barbares. Elles ignorent que la différence fondamentale entre une femme excisée et une autre, c’est la douleur. Toute une vie de douleur. »

Dr Ababacar Mbaye Diaw, Senegal

« J’ai été confronté à l’excision dans la famille de ma femme. » Diplômé en médecine à Moscou, Ababacar s’envole pour la Belgique en 1992. Il rêve de se spécialiser en gynécologie. Il atterrit en radiologie. Mais c’est lui, l’Africain, qu’on appelle pour les femmes infibulées. « Je me suis dit : la diaspora africaine, ce sont des émissaires. C’est avec eux qu’il faut travailler. » Avec sa compatriote Khadidiatou Diallo, il fonde le GAMS Belgique (Groupe pour l’Abolition des Mutilations Sexuelles féminines), puis une antenne au Sénégal. « Cette boucherie n’a aucune utilité. Ce n’est pas comme la circoncision, qui peut avoir une indication médicale. »

Hélène Diallo, Guinea

Hélène est infirmière. Pendant longtemps, elle a excisé des petites filles, comme ses grands-mères le lui avaient appris. Les parents la payaient avec des pagnes, de l’argent, de l’huile, des gros coqs. Mais à l’hôpital, elle a vu les ravages de l’excision. « Lors des accouchements, il n’y avait pas assez de place pour faire passer le bébé. Il fallait couper, en haut, en bas. Il y avait des déchirures. J’ai décidé d’enterrer le couteau et d’arrêter cette pratique. » Hélène et son mari ont ouvert une petite clinique à Conakry et recueillent des orphelins. « Je regrette beaucoup d’avoir perpétué cette coutume. Maintenant, je dorlote les enfants. »

Kandas Condé, Guinea

Kandas a 25 ans. Il est le coordinateur d’un centre pour jeunes à 50 km de Conakry. Depuis qu’il est petit, on l’appelle ‘le bonheur de la jeunesse’ car il aime s’investir pour sa communauté. Le centre de Coya sensibilise les 15 à 25 ans à la sexualité responsable, aux grossesses précoces et aux mutilations génitales féminines. « Les filles de cet âge sont presque toutes excisées. Moi, je trouve que c’est un crime mais je ne peux pas leur dire comme ça. Je dois me montrer ouvert à la discussion. » Dans la région, beaucoup pensent encore que les filles non-excisées sont des filles faciles. « La sensibilisation, c’est un feu de paille. Il faut tout le temps recommencer. »

Kourecha Ahmed, Djibouti

Elle pose avec sa fille de quatre jours, qui n’a pas encore de prénom. Kourecha est sage-femme à Ali-Sabieh (Djibouti). Des amies lui demandent parfois d’exciser leur fille. « Je refuse toujours. J’essaie d’expliquer pourquoi. Moi-même, je suis encore habitée par le stress de ma propre excision. Ça revient dans mes rêves. J’avais sept ans. Toutes mes copines étaient déjà infibulées et j’étais impatiente de l’être aussi. Personne ne m’a dit : ‘du premier jour jusqu’à l’accouchement, tu ressentiras la douleur, tu auras des brûlures, des déchirures, tu n’auras jamais de plaisir avec ton mari et il faudra te couper pour laisser passer ton premier enfant’. Personne. »

Mama Sayon Bangoura, Guinea

Mama Sayon a beaucoup d’influence dans son quartier. Jusqu’il y a peu, elle aidait les parents pauvres à exciser leurs filles. « Je ramassais les enfants en rue. Je les amenais à l’hôpital ou chez les vieilles de la forêt. Je gaspillais tout mon argent pour les habiller et leur donner à manger. » Mama Sayon était persuadée de rendre service à sa communauté. « Ma nièce m’a expliqué que je ne devais plus le faire. Beaucoup ont souffert de cette coutume. Si c’était bon, pourquoi tant de femmes seraient mortes ? » Aujourd’hui, Mama Sayon utilise sa grande influence pour éradiquer la pratique. « Cette année, personne n’a excisé dans le quartier. J’ai dit que ce n’était pas bon. »

Omar Ciss, Senegal

Comédien de la compagnie Kocc Barma de Rufisque (nord du Sénégal), Omar a découvert le théâtre-forum au Burkina Faso. « C’est le moyen le plus efficace pour conscientiser les peuples. » L’un de ses spectacles évoque les mutilations génitales féminines. « On a tous des gens à côté de nous qui font cette tradition. Dans certains villages, on ne peut pas prononcer le mot ‘excision’. Pendant le spectacle, un acteur le fait quand même. Et l’autre répond : ‘attention, tu ne peux pas dire ce mot ici’. Les gens rigolent. On les provoque sans les blesser, pour les obliger à entamer le débat. Si on n’en parle pas, on ne pourra jamais régler ce problème. »

Roukia Youssouf, Djibouti

Elle a 37 ans, six enfants, et une voix qui fait trembler les murs. Roukia est sage-femme et donne des formations à des groupes d’adolescents. « Qui peut me dire pourquoi on torture nos filles dans ce pays ? » « Pour le plaisir sexuel de l’homme », « pour des raisons esthétiques », « pour que la fille n’aille pas voir ailleurs », répondent les jeunes. « Allez, et quoi encore ? » Roukia a excisé sa fille aînée à la maternité « parce que ça se faisait ». Aujourd’hui, elle s’investit dans la lutte contre les mutilations, aux côtés d’un religieux. « Face à une bédouine illettrée, tu peux faire tout ton blabla. S’il y a un religieux à côté, c’est lui qu’elle va écouter. »